Spotted: K stalling out a stick shift

Hello to Friends and Family,

The day has come. THE day. I tried driving stick shift. Let me set the scene. It was a calm Saturday evening. Our spirits were high because we had just finished the last practice for the week. Dinner and Netflix were calling my name. Then, the inevitable happened. Our assistant coach, Laurianne, asked my fellow American, Korrin, and me if we would like to try driving the car. First thought to cross my mind, ‘will it affect my playing time if I wreck the coach’s car?’

The beautiful sunset. AKA the calm before the storm that was my driving.

The beautiful sunset. AKA the calm before the storm that was my driving.

Several scenarios flew through my mind. Most of them ending in a bad situation. Then the optimist in me started to think YOLO. Yes, yolo (You Only Live Once). So I agreed. Korrin was first to take the wheel, and she killed it. She was doing laps around the parking lot like it was the Indy 500. She even took it into second gear…ohhhhhh, ahhhh! Then it was my turn.

First, let’s address the car. The hood of the car just clears my waist line, on a good day. I think if I were to lie down next to the car I would be longer than it. It would be like when I squeezed my feet through the railings at the end of my bunk bed in the third grade. When I went to take the wheel, I had to push that seat back so far I’m pretty sure the head rest was touching the back window. Once I was settled, I had my foot on the clutch and that puppy in first gear. I was laughing in my head thinking how much I had worked up this moment in my mind. It couldn’t go that bad, right?…Wrong.

Here goes nothing!

Here goes nothing!

I PEELED out of my starting position. Cue screeching that was louder than a newborn baby. I may or may not have worn off all the tread on my coach’s tires (there goes a set of playing time). I then began rolling through the parking lot at about 10 km/hr. Your grandma could run faster than I was driving, but I really felt like I was doing something. When it came time to turn the curve, I inched to a stop and stalled out. Classic. After I restarted the car, I attempted to get moving again. Taking my foot off the clutch and pressing the gas didn’t go as smoothly as I had hoped. The car began jerking forward. It was like a bad ride at the state fair. My coach may or may not have gotten whiplash. We’re still waiting for the doctor’s results. After that display I decided it was time to call it a night. A second lap around the lot and the second gear would have to wait for next time.

Hey, you know what they say…’you can only go up from here!’ And boy, isn’t that the truth. My coach was very nice and encouraging, but let’s just say I’m not quite ready for the main road. I may need to start watching YouTube tutorials in my free time. I’ll keep you posted on how it goes.

XOXO k.slay

Leave a Reply

