Spotted: K Playing in the Fall Leaves

Hello Friends and Family,

So much beauty! I felt like I was in a movie.

So much beauty! I felt like I was in a movie.

It’s finally fall, and I couldn’t be happier about that. I think L.M. Montgomery summed it up best in Anne of Green Gables when she said “I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers.” I’m very grateful that fall is a universal thing, and that the leaves will change in to warm colors no matter where you are on this Earth. It is my absolute favorite time of year. It could be because everyone else has started to lose their summer tans so I don’t feel as pale, but I just feel like great things happen in the fall.

Stunning

Stunning

Pillnitz Castle

Pillnitz Castle

Last week we had a day off and the weather couldn’t have been more beautiful. Okay, it was a tad chilly for my liking, but nothing that two coats and a scarf couldn’t overcome. As I looked out my window and saw the yellow leaves I decided I needed to get out and seize the day. I pulled up the map on my phone and looked for the nearest park to my apartment. Low and behold I found a place called Schloss & Park Pillnitz that is only a little over two miles from me, and the fun part is that I would take a ferry across the river to get there. It sounded like a good adventure to me so I bundled up and headed out the door.

Castle Views

Castle Views

The little ferry I took across the river.

The little ferry I took across the river.

IMG_1502

A hidden retreat.

IMG_1506

A couple walking through the hedge maze.

The park was absolutely stunning. There were tall trees covered with yellow and orange leaves that lined the entry to the park. Luckily, no one had come to rake up the leaves yet and they were piled up all over the pathway crunching under my feet as I walked through in awe. This is exactly what fall would look like in a Nicholas Sparks movie, and I sat down on a bench just to take it all in for a while. Along either side of the trees were tall, manicured hedges that were like a maze to wander through. Every so often there would be a break in the hedges that opened up to another secret garden with more flowers and sometimes little ponds. In the main garden of the park there was a large fountain in the center that was surrounded by flower patterns and castle buildings that are now used as museums. History states that Frederick Augustus, known as Augustus the Strong, gave Pillnitz Castle to his mistress as a gift in the 18th century and he would also host grand parties and events here. The gardens went on forever, and I spent my time walking around taking in all of the beautiful fall colors. Occasionally I would sit on a bench with the sun in my face to warm up and then continue on wandering. It was a much needed and refreshing fall day.

IMG_1487

I love fall!

Halloween is just around the corner! Even though they don’t seem to celebrate here in Germany, I’ve watched Hocus Pocus. So I’m ready.

XOXO-k.slay

Leave a Reply

